I began this blog thinking I would look at how teachers must make accommodations in their teaching styles to better fulfill governmental requirements or standardized testing requirements. It was in my opinion that as teachers are having to worry about getting their students to do well on governmental and testing levels, that they must compromise good teaching. These types of requirements, I thought, forced teachers to think not of the needs of their individual students, but of outside requirements. And obviously, that kind of teaching would produce classrooms where teachers do not have time or energy to form creative lesson plans to fit students’ learning abilities and styles.

As I began to think about students’ unique learning capacities, I realized that I was not really interested in how teachers are being trodden upon by a strict system, but the unique needs of their individual students. Therefore, I revised my opening post multiple times to show that I was going to discuss the needs of students, and how schools and teachers should look for options and creative solutions to engage all kinds of learners.

My posts, then, came to be about the differences in learning styles, between all students, between genders, etc. I soon came to see that teachers could do a lot in their individual classrooms to provide learning environments conducive to individual student needs. I also saw that school systems and school programs could do a lot to provide options for students.

Overall, I still maintain that each student has a unique learning style and ability. Whether through school programs or classroom learning, every student should be given opportunities to learn in environments where they learn best. 

